NutzWorld SportzNutz EntertainmentNutz ComputerNutz GamezNutz TinyStart InfoTiki News

KOCO 5 parent Hearst Television earns groupwide Cronkite Award

OKLAHOMA CITY – KOCO 5 parent Hearst Television has garnered its ninth consecutive Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Television Political Journalism in the Station Group category.

The award recognizes the work of KOCO 5 and the other Hearst Television stations around the country covering the 2016 campaign and election seasons.

Hearst is joined by The E.W. Scripps Company, which wins its first Cronkite award in this category. Judges were impressed by both groups’ “top-down commitment” to political coverage across all their stations. They praised both organizations’ “strong, clear, vocal leadership” which translated into quality political coverage across the country.”

Given biennially since legendary CBS anchor Walter Cronkite first presented them in 2001, the prizes were announced today by the Norman Lear Center at the University of Southern California’s Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism, which administers the award.

In a separate category, network journalists Jorge Ramos (Univision), Jake Tapper (CNN) and Katy Tur (NBC) were recognized.

Announcing the winners, USC Annenberg Professor and Lear Center Director Marty Kaplan said, “Today, at this seriously dangerous moment for our democracy, these Cronkite Awards honor journalists, stations and networks stepping up to their civic responsibility to tell Americans the truth.”

“We’re honored for this recognition of our Commitment 2016 coverage efforts. Here in Oklahoma City and across our group nationally, we are dedicated to providing meaningful coverage of politics and reporting to our viewers on the issues that will effect them,” said Brent Hensley, KOCO President and General Manager.

The trophies will be presented at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C., on Friday, April 28 at an invitation-only ceremony.

Article source:

About Michael
%d bloggers like this: