NutzWorld SportzNutz EntertainmentNutz ComputerNutz GamezNutz TinyStart InfoTiki News

Goshen College named Indiana Television School of the Year

GOSHEN — Goshen College was crowned Indiana Television School of the Year in the 2017 Indiana Association of School Broadcasters’ (IASB) college competition.

This is the fifth time in the last eight years the college has earned the title.

“Last year we nipped at the heals of Ball State University for the IASB top honor, but this year we had five first-place wins as well as 10 second- and third-place wins, and that’s huge,” said Dave Kendall, professor of communication and adviser to GCTV’s The Correspondent, a television news magazine. “It’s notable that my alma mater, Ball State, is an institution with a stellar communication department, roughly the size of the whole of Goshen College.”

Goshen College won 10 individual and team radio awards and 15 individual and team television awards, edging out the other 14 colleges and universities for the Television School of the Year top honor. Goshen College was also runner-up for Radio School of the Year

“It’s been an honor to serve as The Correspondent news director for the last three years,” said Karina Flores, a senior broadcasting major. “We have such a talented team and they’ve worked very hard to earn this award.”

Jason Samuel, WGCS general manager and assistant professor of communication, noted the winning streaks of both GC and BSU.

“Since 2010 on the television side and 2012 on the radio side, only Goshen College and Ball State have won the state championship,” said Samuel.

Television Awards:

1st Place

• Television News Package: Karina Flores – The Correspondent: Juan Perez story

• Television News Program: Karina Flores, Jesse Bontreger, Spencer Buttermore, Karen Ramos – The Correspondent: Culture

• Television Non-News Program: Jesse Bontreger, Takoda Friesen, Tim Litwiller, David Leaman-Miller – FiveCore: From The Garage

• Cinematography: Riley Mills – FiveCore: Cinematography Reel

• Television Copywriting: Riley Mills – Communication Dept: IASB Spot

2nd Place

• Television Spot Production: Jesse

Article source:

About Michael
%d bloggers like this: