NutzWorld SportzNutz EntertainmentNutz ComputerNutz GamezNutz TinyStart InfoTiki News

Let’s talk about fantasy and science fiction books that have fallen off the radar

Turning to Britain, I think of Hal Duncan, who burst onto the genre scene with “Vellum” in 2005. It was going to be huge, only it wasn’t. That’s a shame: It’s an intricate, layered, dazzling performance of a novel that seems to me, in hindsight, somewhat ahead of its time. Duncan followed up with a sequel, “Ink,” but subsequent books were published only in the small press. Then there’s Jan Siegel, whose “Prospero’s Children” (1999) I thought was going to become a fantasy classic. It is quintessentially British fantasy in the tradition of Alan Garner or John Masefield, about a young witch discovering her power in a rural house that is more than it seems, and just might be linked to ancient Atlantis. It will remind you of the works of Patricia McKillip in the best possible way.

Article source: https://www.washingtonpost.com/entertainment/books/lets-talk-about-fantasy-and-science-fiction-books-that-have-fallen-off-the-radar/2021/01/12/2f653b56-34a9-11eb-b59c-adb7153d10c2_story.html

About Michael
%d bloggers like this: